KC area team wins at FIRST Tech Challenge World Championship

Seventeen teams from the six-county KC metropolitan area were among the more than 15,000 students from around the world who traveled to Houston to put their innovation skills to the test at the annual FIRST Championship.

The four-day Houston event, attended by more than 33,000 people came down to a heart-pounding conclusion Saturday night in front of thousands of cheering fans at Minute Maid Park when teams competed in match finals for the FIRST® Robotics Competition and FIRST® Tech Challenge world championships.

Leawood’s own Cobalt Colts joined teams from Palm Harbor, Fla., and Elon, N.C., in the FIRST Tech Challenge Winning Alliance for ROVER RUCKUS. The Lee’s Summit West FTC team, Team Titanium Tech, was honored with the Collins Aerospace Innovate Award.

All together, more than 700 robotics teams from 40 countries competed and exhibited in the four FIRST programs, including FIRST® LEGO® League, and FIRST® LEGO® League Jr.

Representing the Kansas City area in the FIRST Robotics Competition:

  • Team 1730 Team Driven, Lee’s Summit High School
  • Team 1987 Broncobots, Lee’s Summit North High School
  • Team 1986 Team Titanium, Lee’s Summit West High School
  • Team 1806 S.W.A.T., Smithville High School
  • Team 5013  Trobots, Park Hill High School
  • Team 5126 Electromagnetic Panthers, Park Hill South High School
  • Team 2357 System Meltdown, Raymore-Peculiar High School
  • Team 1939 Kuhnigits, The Barstow School
  • Team 5801 CTC Inspire, Fort Osage Career and Tech Center
  • Team 1785 Blue Springs Robocats, Blue Springs High School, Blue Springs South, and Blue Springs Freshman Center
  • Team 1982  Cougar Robotics, Shawnee Mission Northwest High School


Representing the region in FIRST Tech Challenge:

  • Astromechs (independent)
  • Cobalt Colts (independent)
  • Red Hot Techie Peppers (independent)
  • Team Titanium Tech from Lee’s Summit West High School

Representing Kansas City in FIRST LEGO League:

  • Rockin’ Rockets (community team from Overland Park)



  • Apollo 6.0 from Harmony Elementary, Blue Valley School District.


Several local teams (and teams in Missouri) earned recognition at the event:

FIRST Robotics Competition Subdivision Winners 

Carver Subdivision

  • Team 1678, Citrus Circuits, Davis, Calif.
  • Team 7179, Crossfire, Garland, Texas
  • Team 3132, Thunder Down Under, Sydney, Australia
  • Team 1939, THE KUHNIGITS, Kansas City, Mo.

Engineering Inspiration Award 

  • Carver-Newton Division: Team 2905, Sultans of Turkiye, Istanbul, Turkey
  • Galileo-Roebling Division: Team 2557, SOTAbots, Tacoma, Wash.
  • Hopper-Turing Division: Team 3284, Camdenton LASER, Camdenton, Mo.

Creativity Award sponsored by Xerox –

  • Carver-Newton Division: Team 6443, AEMBOT, Hillsboro, Ore.
  • Galileo-Roebling Division: Team 1318, Issaquah Robotics Society, Issaquah, Wash.
  • Hopper-Turing Division: Team 5013, Trobots, Kansas City, Mo.

Safety Award sponsored by UL –

  • Carver-Newton Division: Team 932, The Circuit Chargers, Tulsa, Okla.
  • Galileo-Roebling Division: Team 3250, Kennedy Robotics, Sacramento, Calif.
  • Hopper-Turing Division: Team 3284, Camdenton LASER, Camdenton, Mo.

Congratulations to every team who competed at every level this season!